Canada’s Christian Heritage Web Site

Confederation Photo September 1, 1864

Convention at Charlottetown, P.E.I.

Picture Information

Credit: G.P. Roberts / Library and Archives of Canada / C-000733

Convention at Charlottetown, P.E.I., of Delegates from the Legislatures of Canada, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island to take into consideration the Union of the British North American Colonies

The Delegates In the Picture

  1. Col. Hon. John Hamilton Gray, M.P.P. P.E.I. (Chairman of Convention)
  2. Hon. John A. Macdonald, M.P.P. Attorney General, Canada West
  3. Hon. George E. Cartier, M.P.P. Min. of Agriculture
  4. Hon. Thomas D'Arcy McGee, M.P.P., Min. of Agriculture
  5. Hon. Wm. A. Henry, M.P.P., Attorney General, N.S.
  6. Hon. Wm. H., Steeves, M.E.C., N.B.
  7. Hon. John M. Johnson, M.P.P. Attorney General, N.B.
  8. Hon. Samuel Leonard Tilley, M.P.P., Prov. Secretary, N.B.
  9. Hon. R. Dickey, M.L.C. N.S.
  10. Lt. Col. Hon. J.H. Gray, M.P.P., N.B.
  11. Hon. E. Palmer, M.L.C. Attorney General, P.E.I.
  12. Hon. E. Botsford Chandler, M.L.C., N.B.
  13. Hon. H.L. Langevin, M.P.P., Solicitor General, Canada East.
  14. Hon. Charles Tupper, M.P.P., Provincial Secretary, N.S.
  15. Hon. A.T. Galt, M.P.P., Finance Minister.
  16. Hon. Adams G. Archibald, M.P.P., N.S.
  17. Hon. A.A. Macdonald, M.L.C., P.E.I.
  18. Hon. Abt. Campbell, M.L.C. Commissioner of Crown Land.
  19. Hon. Wm. McDougall, M.P.P., Provincial Secretary.
  20. Hon. Wm. H. Pope, M.P.P. Colonial Secretary, P.E.I.
  21. Hon. J. McCully, M.L.C., N.S.
  22. Hon. G. Coles, M.P.P., P.E.I.
  23. Hon. G. Brown, M.P.P., President Executive Council.
  24. Maj. Hewitt Bernard, Secretary to the Attorney General.
  25. Mr. Charles Drinkwater, Private Secretary to the Attorney General, Canada West.
  26. William H. Lee, Clerk Executive Council.

Additional Information

Convention at Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island. Photographed by G.P. Roberts, St.John, N.B.
Home > Confederation Photo Details